Why Flat? Starting Points

So I’ve practiced flatness in several contexts. As a small business owner, as an activist, and as an employee. It feels right to me. It feels like the space wherein I’m most creative and productive. But why? Is it a quirk of my personality or personal history? Or am I on to something? One of my goals in writing here is to explore and challenge my assumptions about why working flat is so great.

Some of my starting points, off the top of my head:

  • People are creative
  • People care about each other
  • People want to succeed together
  • Flat means no arbitrary authority
  • Flat means you decide how you work
  • Flat means you have a say in the definition of success
  • Flat means you own outcomes, good or bad
  • Flat means you solve problems instead of being stuck with them
  • Flat means your co-workers matter
  • Flat means learning
  • Flat means higher expectations
  • Flat means nothing is safe from questions
  • Flat means decisions take longer
  • Flat means decisions are better
  • Flat means work is challenging
  • Flat means work is meaningful

Leave a comment